Neurogan HealthSCIENCE / TOPICAL ACTIVES

SKIN & SCALP · TOPICAL RESEARCH REVIEW

Small ingredients.
Different jobs.

Niacinamide and kojic acid are studied for more even-looking skin. Hyaluronic acid is a hydration ingredient. Caffeine has a different research story, centered on delivery and hair-follicle biology.

Find your ingredient

Ingredient and formulation research, not clinical proof for a finished Neurogan product. Topical cosmetics only; no oral or injectable evidence is borrowed.

01 / FOUR INGREDIENT REVIEWS

Choose the question that matters.

02 / NIACINAMIDE · TOPICAL VITAMIN B3

A credible case for
more even-looking skin.

Of these four ingredients, niacinamide has relatively direct controlled human evidence for facial tone and visible aging. The clearest studies tested defined creams, not a copper-peptide serum.

Niacinamide is also called nicotinamide. It is not interchangeable with niacin, topical NMN or an oral vitamin supplement. Laboratory work suggests it can reduce the transfer of pigment-containing melanosomes between cells. In the same research, it did not directly inhibit mushroom tyrosinase or pigment production in cultured melanocytes. Mechanism is not the same as a visible skin result. [1]

BASELINEWEEK 12

5% cream versus its vehicle

Study context, not a prediction for your routine.

No benefit-size scale

Favorable wrinkle, spot and elasticity findings

Primary study [2]

Qualitative findings only. The line represents elapsed study time, not the speed or magnitude of improvement.
Bissett 2005: a controlled facial appearance study

Design: 50 white women with facial photoaging used 5% niacinamide on one half-face and its vehicle on the other, twice daily for 12 weeks. Side allocation was randomized and double-blind; assessments occurred at baseline and four-week intervals.

Finding: the primary abstract reports significant reductions in fine lines/wrinkles, hyperpigmented spots, red blotchiness and yellowing, with improved instrument-measured elasticity. Exact group means and variability are not supplied in the retrieved abstract, so this page does not invent a percentage improvement.

Limitations: a small, selected population and one formulation. Authors were Procter & Gamble employees and the company funded the work. It does not establish the best concentration, lifelong benefit or a result in all skin types. [2]

Hakozaki 2002: pigment transfer and facial pigmentation

The publication combined laboratory experiments with two human investigations: 18 people with hyperpigmentation in a paired 5% moisturizer-versus-vehicle study, and 120 people with facial tanning assigned to two of three treatments: vehicle, sunscreen, or 2% niacinamide plus sunscreen.

The abstract reports reduced hyperpigmentation and greater skin lightness versus vehicle after four weeks. The sunscreen-containing arm is not isolated niacinamide efficacy. The laboratory pigment-transfer result must not be read as a percentage reduction in human dark spots. Full numerical clinical tables were not retrieved; the paper has industry-affiliated authors. [1]

Navarrete-Solís 2011: a small melasma comparison, not equivalence

Twenty-seven women used 4% niacinamide cream on one half-face and 4% hydroquinone on the other for eight weeks in a randomized, double-blind trial with SPF 50+ sunscreen. Both sides improved. Colorimetric lightness did not differ statistically between treatments; physician-rated good-to-excellent improvement was less frequent with niacinamide.

A nonsignificant difference in a small trial does not establish equivalence to hydroquinone. There was no vehicle-only arm. The full text also reports that reduced solar elastosis in the biopsy subset was not statistically significant, despite the more favorable abstract language. Some printed MASI confidence intervals are internally inconsistent; they are not charted here.

Five participants had side effects on the niacinamide side versus eight on the hydroquinone side, most commonly redness, itching or burning. This short trial cannot establish long-term safety. Melasma is a clinical condition, not a diagnosis to make from a cosmetic product page. [3]

Formula bridge: the Face & Neck Serum description lists niacinamide but does not state its concentration. Its advertised 4% refers to Copper Tripeptide-1, not niacinamide. A trial-dose match cannot be made. [13]

03 / KOJIC ACID · PIGMENTATION

The blend is part
of the evidence.

Kojic acid is studied as a pigment-modulating ingredient, including in melasma. Much of the controlled evidence involves hydroquinone, glycolic acid or other active treatments alongside it.

The proposed rationale is inhibition of tyrosinase, an enzyme involved in melanin production. Clinical interpretation is narrower: an extra effect when kojic acid is added to a particular treatment is not the effect of kojic acid alone, and is not proof for any product listing it. [4] [5]

BASELINEWEEK 12

Same acid/hydroquinone base on both sides

Study context, not a prediction for your routine.

No benefit-size scale

Kojic-containing side did better in the report

Primary study [4]

Qualitative findings only. The line represents elapsed study time, not the speed or magnitude of improvement.
Lim 1999: the added ingredient, not an isolated treatment

Forty Chinese women with epidermal melasma applied 2% kojic acid in a gel with 10% glycolic acid and 2% hydroquinone to one randomized half-face. The other side received the same glycolic-acid/hydroquinone gel without kojic acid. Clinical evaluation, photographs and questionnaires were assessed at four-week intervals through 12 weeks.

Both sides improved, with the abstract reporting a better result on the kojic-containing side. More than half of the melasma cleared on 24 of 40 kojic-treated sides versus 19 of 40 comparator sides. These are paired responder counts, not average percentage pigment reduction, and not two independent groups of 40.

Redness, stinging and exfoliation occurred on both sides and reportedly settled by week three. The comparison isolates adding kojic acid to this base, not its standalone efficacy; the abstract does not provide a precise between-side effect interval. [4]

Deo 2013: four active regimens, without a vehicle-only group

Eighty adults with melasma were randomized to four groups of 20 for 12 weeks: 1% kojic acid alone; 1% kojic acid plus 2% hydroquinone; 1% kojic acid plus 0.1% betamethasone valerate; or all three. Treatment was once nightly with sunscreen and photoprotection. Participants were blinded, but the evaluating investigator was not.

MASI scores improved within all four groups. The kojic acid/hydroquinone regimen ranked highest, followed by the triple combination, kojic acid alone and kojic acid/betamethasone. There was no vehicle-only or hydroquinone-only arm, so sunscreen, time and the base cannot be separated from standalone kojic acid improvement. The authors’ use of “synergy” is not sufficient proof of a pharmacologic interaction.

This is disease-treatment research using combinations unlike the catalog serum. It is not a recommendation to add a steroid or hydroquinone to a cosmetic routine. The investigators reported no agency financial support. [5]

Formula & safety: the Face & Neck Serum lists kojic acid without a percentage. These trials do not establish that formula’s brightening effect. Kojic-containing products may irritate; stop if a persistent rash develops. Use sun protection, and seek clinical advice for persistent or changing pigmentation rather than escalating active ingredients. [13]

04 / HYALURONIC ACID & SODIUM HYALURONATE

Hydration first.
Formulation always.

Topical hyaluronic acid can help skin hold water and soften the appearance of surface lines. That is a different intervention from injectable fillers, and a different outcome from hair growth.

Sodium hyaluronate is the sodium salt of hyaluronic acid (HA). The name alone does not tell you molecular weight, crosslinking, concentration or skin delivery. High- and lower-molecular-weight materials can behave differently; “smaller” is not a universal guarantee of better performance.

BASELINEDAY 60

0.1% HA creams of different molecular weights

Study context, not a prediction for your routine.

No benefit-size scale

Hydration improved; wrinkle finding depended on size

Primary study [6]

Qualitative findings only. The line represents elapsed study time, not the speed or magnitude of improvement.
Pavicic 2011: molecular weight changed the wrinkle result

Seventy-six women aged 30–60 with periocular wrinkles tested one of five 0.1% HA formulations (50, 130, 300, 800 or 2000 kDa) twice daily for 60 days, with vehicle cream around the other eye. Hydration, elasticity and wrinkle replicas were assessed at baseline, day 30 and day 60. The 76 participants were distributed across formulations, not 76 per molecular-weight group.

The abstract reports improved hydration and overall elasticity versus vehicle across all tested HA creams. Significant wrinkle-depth improvements at day 60 were reported for the 50 and 130 kDa groups, not uniformly for all five sizes. Exact endpoint-specific group sizes and numerical outcome means are not in the retrieved abstract.

The findings support a size-and-formulation-dependent cosmetic effect, not a general filler-like result. The publication includes ingredient-industry affiliations. A sodium-hyaluronate label with no molecular weight cannot be matched to either favorable low-molecular-weight arm. [6]

Draelos 2021: a serum study with no untreated comparison

Forty women completed six weeks of twice-daily PCA Skin Hyaluronic Acid Boosting Serum, with sunscreen. Corneometry, investigator appearance scores and tolerability were assessed; visits included immediate post-application measurement and weeks 2, 4 and 6.

Hydration and several appearance scores improved from baseline, and tolerability was favorable. However, there was no randomized vehicle comparison. The serum included proprietary co-actives, not isolated HA, and active concentrations were not disclosed. These changes cannot be assigned to HA alone or transferred to Neurogan’s scalp formula.

The skin-surface sampling methods specify a subset of 15, whereas a figure caption describes 40; this page does not visualize that subset endpoint. The study and publication fee were funded by Colgate-Palmolive, with company employees among the authors. [7]

Multicenter 2022: another multi-ingredient, open-label serum study

This primary report evaluated a high-molecular-weight HA formulation with peptides, used twice daily with cleanser and SPF 30+. Follow-up visits occurred at weeks 2, 4 and 8; the four-month calendar window is not four months of treatment per participant.

The abstract reports improved hydration and investigator-rated skin texture and dryness versus baseline. It is an open-label study, not a vehicle-controlled demonstration of HA alone. The overall clinical denominator is absent from the retrieved abstract; the seven-person biopsy subset must not be treated as the main sample. No quantitative efficacy chart is drawn from it. The publication identifies Alastin Skincare copyright. [8]

Formula bridge: Hydrating Scalp Serum explicitly lists sodium hyaluronate. Its percentage and molecular-weight distribution are not supplied in the description. Facial hydration findings provide context, not a controlled scalp result, a dandruff treatment or evidence of regrowth. Favorable short-term HA-serum tolerability does not rule out sensitivity to a finished formula’s other ingredients. [14]

05 / CAFFEINE · SCALP & HAIR-FOLLICLE RESEARCH

A follicle signal
is not proven regrowth.

Caffeine can reach skin through topical formulations and affect cultured human hair follicles. Those are useful research findings. They do not establish that a caffeine-containing scalp serum restores hair density.

Keep three questions separate: can caffeine be delivered, can it change follicle behavior in a dish, and can a finished product improve clinically meaningful hair outcomes? Different experiments answer each question.

DELIVERY

Reach the skin

Shampoo absorption study. No hair-growth endpoint. [11]

EX VIVO

Change a follicle

Excised follicles respond in culture. Not a regrowth trial. [9] [10]

CLINICAL

Test a formula

An open-label comparison measured anagen ratio, not this serum. [12]

An evidence pathway, not a proven causal chain or a benefit scale.

Fischer 2007 and 2014: living follicles outside the body

2007: follicles from 14 scalp biopsies from men with androgenetic alopecia were cultured for 120–192 hours. Researchers compared control medium with testosterone and/or caffeine. Caffeine at 0.001% and 0.005% counteracted testosterone-associated suppression; caffeine alone also stimulated shaft elongation in this model. Biopsies are not 14 treated scalp-serum users. [9]

2014: microdissected male and female follicles were cultured for 120 hours with testosterone, alone or combined with caffeine in the 0.0005–0.005% range. Reported effects included shaft elongation, longer anagen duration and changes in growth-regulatory proteins, with different sensitivity by sex. The retrieved abstract does not specify the donor count. [10]

Boundary: direct exposure of an isolated follicle to culture medium bypasses skin delivery, metabolism and everyday use. These concentrations are not a home formulation recipe or an optimal serum dose. Neither experiment demonstrates visible regrowth in people.

Otberg 2007: penetration from shampoo, not efficacy

A caffeine-containing shampoo was applied for two minutes in a human penetration experiment. Selectively blocking follicular openings allowed investigators to distinguish follicular from interfollicular absorption, with caffeine detected using sensitive blood measurements.

The study supports faster early absorption through follicles under these conditions. It does not measure hair count, shaft thickness, shedding or facial tone. Its rinse-off vehicle and contact time are not equivalent to a leave-in scalp serum, and absorption does not guarantee the desired effect. The accessible primary abstract does not specify the participant count or formulation concentration. [11]

Dhurat 2017: clinical evidence exists, but read its endpoint

A randomized, open-label multicenter noninferiority study enrolled 210 men with androgenetic alopecia to compare a 0.2% caffeine-based topical liquid with 5% minoxidil for six months. The primary endpoint was change in the proportion of anagen hairs measured by trichogram, not a blinded photographic regrowth or hair-density endpoint.

The authors concluded noninferiority for that study’s endpoint. This is not proof that caffeine is interchangeable with minoxidil, especially without a placebo arm or blinding. Noninferiority depends on the prespecified margin, missing-data handling and analysis population. The accessible abstract provides neither enough of that detail nor endpoint-specific analyzed denominators for a defensible comparison graphic here.

The finding applies to the tested caffeine-based liquid, not isolated caffeine and not Neurogan’s leave-in serum. The full text was not recovered in this review; only the primary abstract is used for its methods and conclusion. Do not stop a prescribed hair-loss treatment based on cosmetic ingredient research. [12]

Formula & safety: caffeine is explicitly named in Hydrating Scalp Serum, but no concentration is given. Its description is about a dry-feeling scalp and conditioning, not a clinical regrowth claim. Topical absorption means exposure is not necessarily confined to the surface; this review cannot quantify systemic exposure from this serum. Avoid broken or irritated skin and stop for persistent burning or rash. New, patchy or unexplained hair loss deserves a clinical assessment. [14]

06 / CATALOG TO RESEARCH

Same ingredient name.
Not the same tested product.

Ingredient presence below was verified in each product’s own description in the supplied September 2026 catalog snapshot, not in recommendations or cross-sell links. These descriptions are not complete independently verified INCI labels or batch assays.

What can and cannot be matched
Catalog productActives verified hereResearch comparison
GHK-Cu Face & Neck SerumNiacinamide; kojic acidBoth are explicitly named alongside Copper Tripeptide-1, aloe, glycerin and oils. Neither supporting active’s percentage is given. The stated 4% is copper peptide, not either supporting ingredient. Facial tone/texture studies do not validate this blend. [13]
Hydrating Scalp SerumSodium hyaluronate; caffeineBoth are explicitly named alongside arginine, cysteine, GHK-Cu and tea tree leaf oil. Concentrations and HA size are unknown. Facial HA studies and caffeine follicle experiments do not establish scalp symptom treatment or hair regrowth. [14]
Practical safety and interpretation

Follow the finished product’s directions rather than copying experimental concentrations. Try a small area first; a home patch test cannot exclude later allergy. Introduce products gradually, avoid eyes and broken skin, and discontinue if irritation persists. Ingredient tolerability in a short trial cannot predict every user’s reaction to a blend.

Sun protection remains important when evaluating pigmentation. Persistent discoloration, inflamed or scaling scalp, and hair loss may need diagnosis rather than more cosmetic actives. Discuss use during pregnancy, breastfeeding or treatment of a skin condition with a qualified clinician; the trials here do not establish safety in those groups.

Hydration is not collagen replacement. A cultured hair follicle is not a clinical regrowth result. A combination result is not isolated-ingredient efficacy. No cited study tests either current Neurogan formula.

THE TAKEAWAY

Match the evidence
to the job.

Niacinamide has useful facial tone and texture evidence. Kojic acid is best interpreted through its tested combinations. HA is a formulation-dependent moisturizer. Caffeine’s laboratory promise needs careful separation from clinical hair claims.

Read the original research ↓

07 / PRIMARY SOURCES

Follow each finding.

A focused narrative review, not a systematic review or medical advice. All study summaries identify the evidence type and relevant limitations. No numerical efficacy curves are reconstructed. Full text was reviewed where marked; other findings are limited to primary publication abstracts.

  1. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    The effect of niacinamide on reducing cutaneous pigmentation and suppression of melanosome transfer.

    Hakozaki T, Minwalla L, Zhuang J, Chhoa M, Matsubara A, Miyamoto K, Greatens A, Hillebrand GG, Bissett DL, Boissy RE. 2002. PMID: 12100180. DOI: 10.1046/j.1365-2133.2002.04834.x.

    Read primary source [1] ↗
  2. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Niacinamide: A B vitamin that improves aging facial skin appearance.

    Bissett DL, Oblong JE, Berge CA. 2005. PMID: 16029679. DOI: 10.1111/j.1524-4725.2005.31732.

    Read primary source [2] ↗
  3. PRIMARY FULL TEXT

    A Double-Blind, Randomized Clinical Trial of Niacinamide 4% versus Hydroquinone 4% in the Treatment of Melasma.

    Navarrete-Solís J, Castanedo-Cázares JP, Torres-Álvarez B, Oros-Ovalle C, Fuentes-Ahumada C, González FJ, Martínez-Ramírez JD, Moncada B. 2011. PMID: 21822427. DOI: 10.1155/2011/379173.

    Read primary source [3] ↗
  4. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Treatment of melasma using kojic acid in a gel containing hydroquinone and glycolic acid.

    Lim JT. 1999. PMID: 10417583. DOI: 10.1046/j.1524-4725.1999.08236.x.

    Read primary source [4] ↗
  5. PRIMARY FULL TEXT

    Kojic Acid vis-a-vis its Combinations with Hydroquinone and Betamethasone Valerate in Melasma: A Randomized, Single Blind, Comparative Study of Efficacy and Safety.

    Deo KS, Dash KN, Sharma YK, Virmani NC, Oberai C. 2013. PMID: 23918998. DOI: 10.4103/0019-5154.113940.

    Read primary source [5] ↗
  6. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Efficacy of cream-based novel formulations of hyaluronic acid of different molecular weights in anti-wrinkle treatment.

    Pavicic T, Gauglitz GG, Lersch P, Schwach-Abdellaoui K, Malle B, Korting HC, Farwick M. 2011. PMID: 22052267. DOI: Not assigned in retrieved record.

    Read primary source [6] ↗
  7. PRIMARY FULL TEXT

    Efficacy Evaluation of a Topical Hyaluronic Acid Serum in Facial Photoaging.

    Draelos ZD, Diaz I, Namkoong J, Wu J, Boyd T. 2021. PMID: 34176098. DOI: 10.1007/s13555-021-00566-0.

    Read primary source [7] ↗
  8. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Multicenter evaluation of a topical hyaluronic acid serum.

    Robinson DM, Vega J, Palm MD, Bell M, Widgerow AD, Giannini A. 2022. PMID: 35833366. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.15241.

    Read primary source [8] ↗
  9. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Effect of caffeine and testosterone on the proliferation of human hair follicles in vitro.

    Fischer TW, Hipler UC, Elsner P. 2007. PMID: 17214716. DOI: 10.1111/j.1365-4632.2007.03119.x.

    Read primary source [9] ↗
  10. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Differential effects of caffeine on hair shaft elongation, matrix and outer root sheath keratinocyte proliferation, and transforming growth factor-β2/insulin-like growth factor-1-mediated regulation of the hair cycle in male and female human hair follicles in vitro.

    Fischer TW, Herczeg-Lisztes E, Funk W, Zillikens D, Bíró T, Paus R. 2014. PMID: 24836650. DOI: 10.1111/bjd.13114.

    Read primary source [10] ↗
  11. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    Follicular penetration of topically applied caffeine via a shampoo formulation.

    Otberg N, Teichmann A, Rasuljev U, Sinkgraven R, Sterry W, Lademann J. 2007. PMID: 17396054. DOI: 10.1159/000101389.

    Read primary source [11] ↗
  12. PRIMARY ABSTRACT

    An Open-Label Randomized Multicenter Study Assessing the Noninferiority of a Caffeine-Based Topical Liquid 0.2% versus Minoxidil 5% Solution in Male Androgenetic Alopecia.

    Dhurat R, Chitallia J, May TW, Jayaraaman AM, Madhukara J, Anandan S, Vaidya P, Klenk A. 2017. PMID: 29055953. DOI: 10.1159/000481141.

    Read primary source [12] ↗
  13. PRODUCT DESCRIPTION · NOT CLINICAL EVIDENCE

    GHK-Cu Face & Neck Serum

    Ingredient names verified from the supplied September 2026 catalog snapshot. Live product wording may change; supporting-active concentrations are not stated in the reviewed descriptions.

    View product description [13] ↗
  14. PRODUCT DESCRIPTION · NOT CLINICAL EVIDENCE

    Hydrating Scalp Serum

    Ingredient names verified from the supplied September 2026 catalog snapshot. Live product wording may change; supporting-active concentrations are not stated in the reviewed descriptions.

    View product description [14] ↗