Neurogan HealthSCIENCE / AHK-CU

COPPER TRIPEPTIDE-3 · TOPICAL HAIR & SCALP

AHK-Cu.
The science behind
the follicle interest.

AHK-Cu helped isolated human hair follicles grow in a laboratory study. That is an encouraging reason for research, not proof that a scalp spray regrows hair in people.

Explore the findings

Ingredient research, not proof of results for a finished Neurogan product.

01 / WHY IT IS STUDIED

A promising follicle signal.
Not yet a human hair result.

HUMAN TISSUE / OUTSIDE THE BODY

Longer follicles

Isolated human hair follicles elongated in response to AHK-Cu in a laboratory experiment.

Encouraging laboratory signal

Follicles were outside the body. No scalp hair-density or regrowth outcome in people was established. [1]

CULTURED CELLS

More papilla-cell activity

Dermal papilla cells, which help regulate follicle growth, showed increased proliferation.

A reason to investigate

Cells in a dish bypass skin delivery. Increased proliferation is not proof of fuller-looking hair. [1]

MIXED CELL FINDINGS

Survival signals

Protein markers shifted in a direction consistent with cell survival.

The direct test was not significant

The decrease in the number of dying cells was not statistically significant. [1]

These are different experiments within one primary publication, not three clinical studies. Arrows and diagrams describe the experiments, not a benefit score.

02 / SEE THE EXPERIMENT

A follicle in culture
is not a scalp in everyday life.

01

Human follicles

Hair follicles are removed from the body and maintained in laboratory culture.

02

Direct exposure

AHK-Cu reaches the tissue through the culture medium, rather than through intact scalp skin.

03

Measure elongation

Longer follicle growth is a tissue result, not a count of new hairs on someone’s scalp.

The missing step: a controlled scalp trial

Applying a finished serum to people and measuring hair density, shedding, visible coverage and adverse effects is a different experiment. No controlled human AHK-Cu-only scalp trial was verified for this guide. [1]

Qualitative experiment map. No numerical hair-growth curve or human percentage is available from the verified primary abstract.

03 / A CLOSER LOOK

What the direct research measured.

2007 · EX VIVO FOLLICLE EXPERIMENT

Human hair follicles grew in culture

AHK-Cu stimulated elongation of isolated human hair follicles. This is the main direct hair-research signal, but it does not show hair regrowth in treated volunteers. [1]

Read the methods, results and limits
Model
Human hair follicles outside the body, not a randomized clinical scalp study. The accessible primary abstract does not report donor count or number of follicles.
Compound
L-alanyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu²⁺, explicitly AHK-Cu. It is not GHK-Cu.
Exposure
The abstract reports activity at 10⁻¹² to 10⁻⁹ M. M means moles per liter of laboratory medium. These are not recommended cosmetic concentrations or per-spray doses.
Duration & control
Duration and detailed control conditions are not stated in the retrieved primary abstract or publisher preview. We do not substitute values from retailer summaries.
Result
Follicle elongation was stimulated. Absolute lengths, baseline/endline means, variability and exact effect sizes were not available in the verified abstract. No numerical growth chart is appropriate.
Limits & access
Primary PubMed abstract and publisher preview verified; full article not retrieved. Direct tissue exposure bypasses the scalp barrier. No treated-human hair count, shedding outcome or clinical tolerability endpoint is supplied.

Publication and source access ↓

2007 · IN VITRO CELL EXPERIMENTS · SAME PUBLICATION

Papilla cells proliferated, but the survival test was mixed

AHK-Cu increased cell proliferation and changed survival-related proteins. The direct count of apoptotic cells decreased without reaching statistical significance. [1]

Read the methods, results and limits
Model
Cultured human dermal papilla cells: specialized cells associated with the hair follicle. Donor count and replicate count are not reported in the accessible abstract.
Exposure
Proliferation activity reported at 10⁻¹² to 10⁻⁹ M; apoptosis and protein findings described at 10⁻⁹ M. Exposure durations are not available in the verified abstract.
Measurements
Annexin V/propidium iodide labeling and flow cytometry measured apoptotic cells. The abstract also reports Bcl-2/Bax, cleaved caspase-3 and cleaved PARP, which relate to cell-death signaling.
Results & null
Proliferation increased. Bcl-2/Bax ratio rose; cleaved caspase-3 and PARP decreased. The reduction in apoptotic cells was not statistically significant, so the proposed cell-survival mechanism remains provisional.
What this does not show
It does not demonstrate increased scalp blood flow, reversal of hair loss, protection against all causes of shedding, or clinical superiority to established treatment.
Limits & access
Same primary paper as the follicle experiment, not independent replication. Only abstract/preview verified; exact percentages, clinical dose and long-term human safety are unavailable.

Publication and source access ↓

04 / KNOW THE PEPTIDE

AHK-Cu is not GHK-Cu.

AHK-Cu

Ala · His · Lys + Cu

The hair-laboratory peptide

The first amino acid is alanine. This is the copper complex named in the follicle paper. [1]

GHK-Cu

Gly · His · Lys + Cu

A related, distinct peptide

The first amino acid is glycine. Sharing copper and part of a sequence does not make evidence interchangeable. Read the separate topical GHK-Cu guide ↗

A blend containing AHK-Cu and GHK-Cu is a third question. Separate ingredient findings do not prove additive benefits, synergy or a better ratio. The cited AHK-Cu study did not test a finished dual-peptide scalp spray.

05 / FROM LAB TO BOTTLE

Compare formulas, not promises.

CURRENT PRODUCT RECORD

AHK-Cu Copper Peptide Hair Serum 4800mg

Topical scalp product: the current title is “AHK-Cu Copper Peptide Hair Serum 4800mg,” despite the older hair-spray URL. The description identifies Copper Tripeptide-3 and states 4800 mg. A container amount is not a verified dose reaching the follicle, and a spray cannot be matched to culture-medium molarity from this record.

View the product record ↗

CURRENT PRODUCT RECORD

AHK-CU + GHK-CU Hair Serum Pro

Topical blend: the description states 2400 mg AHK-Cu plus 2400 mg GHK-Cu, in a 1:1 ratio. Those are listed ingredient amounts, not evidence that the combination works better. The AHK-Cu-only laboratory paper did not test this blend or establish a clinical ratio.

View the product record ↗

Product records checked September 10, 2026. Listed amounts are manufacturer descriptions, not independently verified potency or clinical equivalence. None of the studies summarized here tested these finished Neurogan products.

What the product records can and cannot establish

The records provide current titles, listed amounts and topical usage descriptions. They do not independently verify chemical identity, stability, peptide purity, skin penetration, delivered dose per spray or clinical efficacy.

Claims in a product description are not study findings. In particular, this primary abstract does not establish that an AHK-Cu spray increases blood flow in a living scalp. Laboratory medium concentrations cannot be converted into a recommended spray regimen without delivery and safety data.

06 / TOPICAL USE & SAFETY

Care for the scalp.
Keep the evidence in view.

Use as a cosmetic, not a treatment substitute

Patch test, use only as directed on intact scalp skin and stop if irritation occurs. Avoid the eyes and broken or inflamed skin. Do not inject, inhale or combine with microneedling based on this research.

These are general cosmetic precautions. The follicle and cell experiments did not establish a safe clinical concentration or long-term scalp tolerability.

Understand the cause of hair changes

Sudden shedding, patchy loss, scalp pain or scarring warrants medical evaluation. Cosmetic use should not delay diagnosis or evidence-based care.

Ask a clinician about use during pregnancy or breastfeeding, for children, or alongside scalp medicines. Cell-survival findings are not a clinical safety guarantee. [1]

Does “human hair growth” in the paper title mean a human trial?

No. “Human” describes where the follicles came from. The abstract specifies ex vivo follicles and cultured cells. People were not assigned an AHK-Cu serum and followed for hair regrowth.

How soon should I expect results?

The retrieved primary source does not establish a clinical timeline. We cannot turn an experimental culture period into a time-to-results promise for a scalp cosmetic.

Is a higher peptide amount more effective?

There is no verified clinical dose-response result here. A larger bottle amount does not show that more intact peptide reaches the follicle or that a product works better.

Is AHK-Cu comparable to minoxidil or a hair-loss medicine?

The verified paper does not provide a controlled clinical comparison. A biological signal in tissue is not evidence of equivalence to a treatment tested in people.

07 / SOURCE & ACCESS

Follow the original research.

This focused hair/scalp guide reports what could be verified in primary sources. Absence of a verified clinical trial here is an evidence gap, not proof that no such study could ever exist.

  1. PRIMARY ABSTRACT / PUBLISHER PREVIEW

    Pyo et al. · The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitro (2007)

    Archives of Pharmacal Research 30:834–839. PMID 17703734 · DOI 10.1007/BF02978833. Exact AHK-Cu identity; follicle elongation, cell proliferation and nonsignificant apoptosis reduction. The donor count, duration, absolute outcomes and complete controls were not verified from full text.

    Read the primary source ↗

Open the publisher preview ↗

One direct primary publication, separated into its follicle and cell experiments above. No review-derived GHK-Cu result or retailer-supplied hair-growth percentage is counted as AHK-Cu clinical evidence.