Lines & wrinkles
Fewer visible lines and wrinkles described in two older cream reports.
Eye area: 41 women. Face: 71 women. Separate reports, not a pooled sample. [1]
COPPER TRIPEPTIDE-1 · TOPICAL COSMETICS
Small human reports describe improvements in lines, wrinkles and skin firmness. Here is a simpler look at the favorable findings, and what they mean for skincare.
Explore the findingsPromising ingredient research. Not proof of results for a finished Neurogan product.
01 / BENEFITS STUDIED
A map of reported outcomes, not a scale of benefit.
Fewer visible lines and wrinkles described in two older cream reports.
Eye area: 41 women. Face: 71 women. Separate reports, not a pooled sample. [1]
Less laxity in the facial report; greater thickness and density in both reports.
Qualitative findings from a review, not verified numerical changes or biopsy results. [1]
A newer face-cream abstract reports improved barrier conditions and fewer wrinkles.
A blend result, not GHK-Cu alone. Clinical size, duration and effect size are unavailable. [2]
Arrows show reported direction only. They do not represent a measured percentage or guaranteed product result.
02 / BASELINE TO ENDPOINT
Two older studies followed cosmetic cream use. The review describes favorable endpoint findings, but does not provide numerical before-and-after scores. [1]
Starting line and wrinkle scores not supplied.
Greater skin thickness and density also reported.
Change: favorable, not quantifiedStarting wrinkle-depth and laxity scores not supplied.
Fewer fine lines; greater thickness and density reported.
Change: favorable, not quantifiedEye-area report: 41 women with mild to advanced photodamage; GHK-Cu-containing eye cream. The review describes improvements compared with placebo or vitamin K cream, but group sizes, allocation, masking, application schedule and numerical differences are not supplied.
Facial report: 71 women with mild to advanced photodamage; GHK-Cu-containing cream. Control methods, allocation, masking and application schedule are not adequately described in the retrieved review. These reports cannot support a numerical comparison between products.
Source: BioImpacts review, references 15 and 16. View citation.
03 / A CLOSER LOOK AT COLLAGEN
A small pilot reported increased procollagen synthesis in skin biopsies after one month of copper-peptide cream use. [1]
Procollagen is a collagen precursor. This is a tissue marker, not a measurement of smoother skin.
70% marker responders
Not 70% improvement
The pilot had 20 participants overall. Ten used copper-peptide and melatonin creams on opposite thighs. Ten others used vitamin C and retinoic acid creams. The review reports a procollagen response in 70% of copper-peptide users, 50% of vitamin C users and 40% of retinoic acid users.
Comparator creams were used in different participant groups. Small groups, thigh rather than facial skin, an indirect marker and unavailable original methods prevent a reliable product ranking. The tested copper-peptide concentration and amount are not reported. The review identifies this cream as GHK-Cu; the original paper was not independently verified.
Source: BioImpacts review, reference 14. View citation.
04 / WHY SCIENTISTS ARE INTERESTED
GHK-Cu + hyaluronic acid showed favorable collagen findings in cells and excised human skin. These experiments help explain the interest, not predict a skincare result. [3]
GHK-Cu + low-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid
Collagen I, IV and VII gene expression
Collagen IV measured in skin outside the body
| Study element | Reported finding | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Selected blend | GHK-Cu : low-molecular-weight HA, 1:9 ratio | A specific combination, not a clinical serum dose |
| Cell experiment | Favorable collagen gene-expression findings | Biological activity, not a visible wrinkle change |
| Excised-skin experiment | Increased collagen IV reported | Tissue outside the body, not treated volunteers |
| Numerical comparison | Reference comparator not specified in the accessible abstract | No baseline-normalized chart shown |
Laboratory blend only. The primary abstract reports fold changes, but does not identify their reference comparator clearly enough to chart a verified baseline. No human wrinkle effect can be calculated from this study.
Human dermal fibroblasts were exposed to combinations of GHK-Cu and hyaluronic acid. Collagen I, IV and VII gene expression was measured by qRT-PCR. A selected formula was then tested in excised skin, with collagen IV assessed by immunofluorescence.
The abstract identifies a 1:9 ratio with low-molecular-weight HA as the strongest tested combination. Absolute concentrations, duration, donor counts, replicate counts and the reference comparator for the reported fold changes are not supplied. Different assays cannot be treated as interchangeable collagen measurements.
Primary publication, abstract only. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.15763 · PMID: 37062921. View citation.
05 / FROM RESEARCH TO ROUTINE
The same ingredient name does not mean the same tested product. None of the cited studies tested a current Neurogan formula.
Face and eye creams are closest to the older cosmetic reports. Their GHK-Cu concentrations are missing, so a dose match cannot be established.
Facial appearance findings do not establish hair growth. GHK-Cu and the related peptide AHK-Cu are not interchangeable.
A short rinse-off application is not equivalent to ongoing leave-on cream use. Container milligrams do not establish benefit per use.
A 2026 publication studied Thermus thermophilus/Bacillus subtilis mixed-culture ferment extract plus GHK-Cu, with laboratory, excised-skin and clinical components. Its abstract reports decreased wrinkles and improved skin barrier conditions in the clinical component.
The clinical sample size, dose, duration, comparator, allocation and masking are not stated in the accessible abstract. No clinical effect size or uncertainty interval is supplied. The favorable finding applies to the combination, not isolated GHK-Cu and not a Neurogan product. Source 2.
A 2011 laboratory study examined copper delivery through isolated human skin layers under abundant-dose conditions for 48 hours, using a 0.68% aqueous copper-tripeptide preparation. Copper retention and permeation varied with the skin model. Measuring elemental copper does not prove that intact GHK-Cu reached a biological target, and the study measured no wrinkle outcome. Source 4.
GHK is the peptide without copper. GHK-Cu is the copper complex, commonly listed as Copper Tripeptide-1. Palmitoyl-GHK and AHK-Cu are different ingredients. The available cosmetic reports do not establish an ideal GHK-Cu percentage or show that more milligrams deliver more visible benefit.
GHK-Cu is a plausible cosmetic ingredient with favorable but incomplete human evidence. Current sources do not establish a dependable wrinkle percentage, an individual response timeline or how long benefits last after stopping.
Follow the finished product's directions, patch test first and stop if irritation develops. Avoid the eyes unless the formula is intended for that area. These small reports do not establish universal tolerability or long-term safety. Cosmetic peptides do not replace sun protection or medical assessment of a skin condition.
THE TAKEAWAY
GHK-Cu is worth studying for smoother-looking skin. The human reports are encouraging, but a reliable benefit size and best concentration are still open questions.
Follow the evidence ↓06 / SOURCES & FURTHER READING
This is a focused cosmetic evidence guide, not a systematic review. Older reports are traced through a review; primary abstracts are identified separately. Reports and review participants are not added together.
BioImpacts, 2025 collection. DOI: 10.34172/bi.30071. PMID: 39963574. References 14–16 cover the biopsy pilot and the two 12-week meeting reports. Originals not retrieved; no usable numerical appearance changes.
Read the source review ↗Wang et al., Skin Research and Technology, 2026. DOI: 10.1111/srt.70360. PMID: 42573538. Favorable wrinkle and barrier findings for a combination; clinical effect size and key methods unavailable in the abstract.
View primary publication ↗Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2023. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.15763. PMID: 37062921. Cells and excised skin only. The accessible abstract does not specify the reference comparator for its fold changes.
View primary publication ↗Hostynek, Dreher & Maibach, 2011. DOI: 10.1007/s00011-010-0238-9. PMID: 20721598. Skin-layer delivery experiment, not clinical cosmetic efficacy.
View primary publication ↗This page addresses ordinary topical cosmetics on intact skin. It does not use wound, injection or procedure-assisted research as evidence of skincare efficacy. The review's broad abstract wording about a lack of clinical studies is read alongside the small human reports actually described in its body.
No synthetic efficacy curves, estimated wrinkle percentages, combined participant totals or product rankings are used. The laboratory chart is omitted because the accessible primary abstract does not establish its reference comparator. A preformulation paper from the earlier review is not used here to make copper-complex stability claims because the tested peptide identity needs further verification.
The cited findings are favorable, but inaccessible originals and incomplete reporting make selective reporting and publication bias difficult to assess. This selected set does not establish that every trial was favorable.