Topical cosmetics | Copper Tripeptide-1

GHK-Cu
Skin research,
made clear.

Copper peptides have an interesting skin-science story. Small cosmetic reports describe smoother-looking skin, but the evidence is less complete than the claims often suggest. Here is what was actually studied, and what remains uncertain.

The clearest takeaway
12weeks

Two commonly cited cosmetic cream reports followed women for 12 weeks. Both were favorable, but they are available here only through a review citing meeting proceedings.

41 women in the eye-area report; 71 in the facial report. Original methods, tested concentrations and numerical wrinkle changes were not verified. This is not a promised time to results. Read the reports.

Ingredient research is not a clinical trial of a finished Neurogan product. This page concerns ordinary topical cosmetic use on intact skin.

01 | Evidence base

A small, uneven clinical foundation

Counts describe the selected evidence on this page, not all studies ever conducted.

3

Older human reports

Two appearance studies and one biopsy pilot, summarized secondhand. They are not three verified full clinical papers.

1

Newer clinical combination

A 2026 face-cream publication reports favorable results for ferment extract plus GHK-Cu. Only its abstract was accessible.

?

Reliable wrinkle percentage

No defensible pooled percentage can be calculated from these sources. Missing data stays missing.

0

Neurogan trials identified here

No controlled clinical trial of the compared Neurogan cosmetics was identified in the retrieved literature.

Research worth following, not a settled effect size. Favorable reports are a reason for better trials, not a basis for ranking products by expected wrinkle reduction.

02 | Study design

Different questions need different evidence

A review does not turn a laboratory experiment into a clinical trial.

  1. 01

    Finished-product trials

    The closest evidence to what happens when someone uses a particular cream. None of the cited studies tests the Neurogan products below.

    Not identified here
  2. 02

    Human appearance outcomes

    Two older cream reports and the newer ferment combination suggest benefit. Missing originals or incomplete methods limit confidence.

    Limited
  3. 03

    Human tissue markers

    A small thigh-biopsy pilot reports a procollagen response. A change under a microscope does not quantify a visible wrinkle change.

    Indirect
  4. 04

    Cells, skin models and delivery

    These explain why the ingredient is studied and why its vehicle matters. They cannot establish a consumer benefit or a safe concentration.

    Background
03 | Visual evidence map

What was measured, and how close is it to your routine?

This is a map of evidence types, not a benefit score. No study is assigned an invented quality percentage.

Selected sources mapped to cosmetic questions
SourceVisible appearanceTissue / lab markerDelivery / stabilityMain uncertainty
Eye cream, 2002Secondary reportSecondary reportNot measuredOriginal unavailable
Facial cream, 2002Secondary reportSecondary reportNot measuredOriginal unavailable
Biopsy pilotNot measuredSecondary reportNot measuredOnly 10 copper-peptide users
Ferment blend, 2026Primary abstractSeparate lab workNot establishedClinical methods unavailable
HA blend, 2023Not measuredPrimary abstractNot establishedNo treated volunteers
Skin delivery, 2011Not measuredNot measuredPrimary abstractCopper is not intact complex
Formulation stabilityNot measuredNot measuredPrimary abstractNot a finished-product trial

What “70%” actually means

The biopsy pilot reports that 70% of the 10 copper-peptide users showed increased procollagen synthesis. It does not report 70% fewer wrinkles, 70% more collagen, or a 70% success rate for facial skincare.

Check the denominator →

Why no before-and-after bar chart?

The older cream reports do not provide usable numerical wrinkle changes in the retrieved review. The newer clinical abstract also omits effect sizes. A bar chart would imply precision these sources do not offer.

Read the newer finding →
04 | Study summaries

Read the finding. Keep the limitation.

Every summary states the design, population, exposure, endpoint and source-access level. All summaries remain readable without JavaScript.

01Secondary report · original not verified

Eye-area appearance: a 12-week report

Leyden, Stephens, Finkey & Barkovic, AAD meeting proceedings, 2002; summarized in the 2025 review, reference 15.

Design
Topical eye-cream comparison; randomization, masking and group allocation not established from the review.
Who / n
41 women with mild to advanced photodamage; group sizes not provided.
Formulation / dose
GHK-Cu-containing eye cream; concentration, amount and application frequency not reported in the retrieved review.
Duration
12 weeks
Endpoint
Lines and wrinkles around the eyes; skin thickness and density.
Reported result

The review reports improved appearance, fewer lines and wrinkles, and greater thickness and density compared with placebo or a vitamin K cream. Numerical changes and uncertainty are not supplied.

What limits the finding: Conference-level source. Without the original methods and results, the size and reliability of the benefit cannot be checked. This is not a trial of a current Neurogan eye or face product.

Favorable, low-certainty reportRead the source review ↗
02Secondary report · original not verified

Facial photoaging: a second 12-week report

Leyden, Stephens, Finkey, Appa & Barkovic, AAD meeting proceedings, 2002; summarized in the 2025 review, reference 16.

Design
Topical facial-cream study; control, randomization and masking not adequately described in the retrieved review.
Who / n
71 women with mild to advanced facial photodamage; group sizes not given.
Formulation / dose
GHK-Cu-containing cream; concentration and application amount/frequency not stated.
Duration
12 weeks
Endpoint
Skin density, thickness, laxity, fine lines and wrinkle depth.
Reported result

The review reports increased skin density and thickness and reduced laxity, fine lines and wrinkle depth. It does not provide a numerical effect size, confidence interval or enough comparator data to reconstruct the result.

What limits the finding: A separate conference report, not a verified full randomized-trial publication. Repetition in later reviews does not add new participants or independent confirmation.

Favorable, low-certainty reportRead the source review ↗
03Secondary report · original not verified

The “70%” result was a biopsy response, not wrinkle reduction

Abdulghani et al., pilot study cited as 1998 in the 2025 review, reference 14.

Design
One-month pilot with paired thigh applications. Ten participants used copper-peptide and melatonin creams on opposite thighs; ten others used vitamin C and retinoic acid creams.
Who / n
20 participants in total; only 10 received the copper-peptide cream.
Formulation / dose
Topical cream identified as GHK-Cu by the review; concentration and application amount not reported.
Duration
1 month
Endpoint
Skin biopsy ultrastructure and procollagen synthesis by dermal papillary fibroblasts.
Reported result

The review reports increased procollagen synthesis in 70% of the copper-peptide group, versus 50% of the vitamin C group and 40% of the retinoic acid group. These are proportions of participants showing a biopsy response, not the amount of new collagen or change in wrinkles.

What limits the finding: Tiny groups, thigh rather than facial skin, and a tissue marker rather than a visible cosmetic outcome. Comparator creams were used in different participant groups. The original paper and its bibliographic details were not independently verified.

Favorable tissue marker · not visible efficacyRead the source review ↗
04Primary publication · abstract only

A newer face-cream study tested a combination

Wang, Tao, Huang & Chang. Skin Research and Technology, 2026;32(8). DOI: 10.1111/srt.70360. PMID: 42573538.

Design
Laboratory, excised-skin and clinical testing of mixed-culture ferment extract plus GHK-Cu. Clinical allocation, masking and comparator are not stated in the abstract.
Who / n
Clinical participant count, age range and skin types are not reported in the accessible abstract.
Formulation / dose
Face cream with Thermus thermophilus/Bacillus subtilis mixed-culture ferment extract and GHK-Cu as the reported active combination; concentrations and application schedule unavailable.
Duration
Clinical duration not reported in the accessible abstract.
Endpoint
Clinical wrinkles and skin barrier conditions; separate laboratory inflammation and UV-exposed skin outcomes.
Reported result

The abstract reports decreased wrinkles and improved skin barrier conditions in the clinical study. It gives no clinical numerical changes, group sizes, confidence intervals or p-values.

What limits the finding: This is direct clinical publication evidence for a combination, not GHK-Cu alone. Full text was not available for method verification. The formulation is not one of the Neurogan products compared below; laboratory comparisons cannot establish which ingredient drove the clinical finding.

Favorable combination · incomplete clinical detailView publication ↗
05Primary publication · abstract only

GHK-Cu + hyaluronic acid: a laboratory collagen signal

Synergy of GHK-Cu and hyaluronic acid on collagen IV upregulation via fibroblast and ex-vivo skin tests. Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2023. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.15763. PMID: 37062921.

Design
Human dermal fibroblast testing followed by testing of a selected combination in excised human skin.
Who / n
Cultured cells and skin outside the body, not treated volunteers. Donor and replicate counts not provided in the abstract.
Formulation / dose
GHK-Cu to low-molecular-weight hyaluronic acid ratio of 1:9; absolute concentrations not stated in the abstract.
Duration
Not stated in the abstract.
Endpoint
Collagen I, IV and VII gene expression; collagen IV immunofluorescence in skin.
Reported result

The selected combination reportedly increased collagen IV 25.4-fold in the cell test and 2.03-fold in the excised-skin test. The assays and tissue systems differ; these numbers are not interchangeable.

What limits the finding: Not a human wrinkle trial. A selected blend and HA molecular weight matter. Neither fold-change is a percentage reduction in wrinkles, and neither establishes a tested serum concentration.

Favorable laboratory combinationView publication ↗
06Primary publication · abstract and review context

Skin delivery depends on the model, not just the molecule

Hostynek, Dreher & Maibach. Human skin penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as a function of skin layer. Inflammation Research, 2011. DOI: 10.1007/s00011-010-0238-9. PMID: 20721598.

Design
Flow-through diffusion cells containing isolated skin layers; copper measured in tissues and receiver fluid.
Who / n
Excised human skin; not a clinical cosmetic study. Donor count not established from the abstract.
Formulation / dose
0.68% aqueous copper tripeptide under infinite-dose laboratory conditions; 1 cm² exposure area.
Duration
48 hours
Endpoint
Copper retention and permeation, measured by ICP-MS.
Reported result

Copper was detected beyond dermatomed skin and retained within skin. The review reports very different permeation across isolated stratum corneum, epidermis and split-thickness skin.

What limits the finding: Delivery background only. An abundant laboratory dose is not a few drops of serum. Measuring elemental copper cannot show that intact GHK-Cu reached its target; copper can separate from GHK and bind other molecules. No wrinkle outcome was measured.

Delivery demonstrated · cosmetic effect untestedView publication ↗
07Primary publication · abstract only

Some formulations preserve GHK-Cu better than others

Badenhorst, Svirskis & Wu. Physicochemical characterization of native glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine tripeptide for wound healing and anti-aging: a preformulation study for dermal delivery. DOI: 10.3109/10837450.2014.979944. PMID: 25384620; online 2014.

Design
Bench testing of solubility, distribution, stress degradation and compatibility with potential carrier ingredients.
Who / n
Solutions and carrier systems; no human participants.
Formulation / dose
Multiple laboratory conditions; no clinical application dose. Buffers spanning pH 4.5–7.4 were examined.
Duration
At least 2 weeks for the reported water/buffer stability test at 60°C.
Endpoint
Peptide concentration and degradation products, assessed using chromatography and mass spectrometry.
Reported result

GHK-Cu was stable in the tested water and buffers but susceptible to basic and oxidative stress. It was compatible with Span 60-based niosomes and less stable with the negatively charged lipid dicetyl phosphate.

What limits the finding: A formulation test, not a human safety or efficacy trial. Accelerated conditions do not establish the shelf life of every finished product. These results also do not justify blanket rules about mixing all copper peptides with every other skincare active.

Mixed stability · formula-specificView publication ↗
08Narrative review · full text read

The review that traces the older cosmetic reports

Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective. BioImpacts, 2025 collection. DOI: 10.34172/bi.30071. PMID: 39963574; PMC11830136.

Design
Narrative discussion of GHK, GHK-Cu, palmitoyl-GHK, activity, penetration and formulation.
Who / n
Mixed laboratory literature and small human reports; no new participants and no pooled trial population.
Formulation / dose
Varies across cited studies. The older cosmetic cream concentrations are not supplied.
Duration
Varies; human reports summarized above last 1 month or 12 weeks.
Endpoint
Biological activity, delivery and selected signs of skin aging.
Reported result

The body describes small favorable human reports and extensive laboratory plausibility, while highlighting insufficient published permeability, effectiveness and safety information.

What limits the finding: Not a systematic review or meta-analysis. Its abstract refers to an absence of clinical studies despite describing human studies in the body. This page follows the actual cited reports and their availability rather than treating that wording as proof of either no research or strong efficacy.

Useful synthesis · limited clinical foundationView publication ↗
05 | Plain English

The name on the ingredient list matters

Copper peptides are a family of related compounds, not one interchangeable ingredient.

GHK-Cu

Glycyl-histidyl-lysine bound to copper. Common cosmetic name: Copper Tripeptide-1. This is the main subject of this page.

GHK

The same three-amino-acid sequence without its copper complex. A GHK experiment is not automatically a test of GHK-Cu.

Palmitoyl-GHK

GHK chemically joined to a fatty-acid chain; also called Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1. It is not Copper Tripeptide-1. A blend containing it is a different formula.

AHK-Cu

Alanine replaces glycine. The often-cited human hair-follicle experiment tested AHK-Cu outside the body, not GHK-Cu on a living scalp. Read that identity-specific source.

Collagen is not one measurement

Procollagen is a precursor. Collagen gene expression is a cell signal. Collagen IV is a structural component near the boundary between skin layers. None of these automatically gives a visible wrinkle reduction.

The formula is part of the question

Peptide identity, concentration, stability, carrier, application amount and skin condition all influence exposure. A blue color or a larger milligram number is not evidence of superior results.

06 | Formulation comparison

How the research relates to Neurogan cosmetics

Product details below describe the supplied catalog, not independent clinical results. Listed amounts are manufacturer statements; they are not validated cosmetic study doses.

Leave-on face & neck

GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Face & Neck Serum

1,200 mg; described as 4% Copper Tripeptide-1.

Niacinamide, aloe, glycerin, kojic acid, jojoba oil, vitamin E and rice bran oil are also described. Any finished-serum effect cannot be assigned to GHK-Cu alone.

View product details ↗
Leave-on face cream

Advanced GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Face Cream 2400mg

2,400 mg GHK-Cu per 2 oz jar.

A cream vehicle differs from the unspecified older trial creams. No verified concentration match or head-to-head evidence that more peptide produces more visible benefit.

View product details ↗
Leave-in scalp serum

Hydrating Scalp Serum

Copper Tripeptide-1 listed; concentration not stated in catalog description.

Sodium hyaluronate, amino acids, caffeine and tea tree oil are described. Facial wrinkle reports do not establish scalp outcomes or hair growth.

View product details ↗
Leave-on scalp serum

GHK-Cu Copper Peptide Hair & Scalp Serum

GHK-Cu serum; concentration not stated in catalog description.

The catalog describes a two-ingredient serum. AHK-Cu follicle culture data does not establish clinical hair growth with this GHK-Cu product.

View product details ↗
Rinse-off body wash

GHK-Cu + AHK-Cu Body Wash

4,000 mg combined GHK-Cu + AHK-Cu per 237 mL bottle.

The catalog does not separate the amount of each peptide. Short rinse-off contact is not equivalent to weeks of leave-on cream use.

View product details ↗

Not a product ranking. There is no verified match between these products and the older study concentrations. Total milligrams per container are not milligrams per application; a blend total is not the dose of each peptide. Check the current package for the full ingredient list and directions.

07 | Honest notes

The gaps are part of the evidence

A favorable finding can be real and still leave important questions unanswered.

Positive does not mean well quantified

The available human reports lean favorable. However, inaccessible originals, missing controls and no usable effect sizes make publication bias and selective reporting hard to judge. The retrieved set does not provide a well-characterized negative GHK-Cu monotherapy wrinkle trial; that is not proof that all studies succeed.

Mixed findings matter too

GHK-Cu stability changes with stressors and carrier ingredients. Delivery differs by the skin layer tested. These are genuine qualifications, but not failed wrinkle trials. A separate AHK-Cu cell study reported a nonsignificant reduction in apoptotic cells; that finding belongs to AHK-Cu, not GHK-Cu.

What is a reasonable expectation?

Think of GHK-Cu as a cosmetic ingredient with plausible biology and limited clinical documentation, not a guaranteed wrinkle eraser. This evidence cannot predict your response, an ideal percentage, or whether benefits last after stopping. Moisturization from the rest of a formula can also affect how skin looks and feels.

Keep use simple and skin-specific

Follow the finished product’s directions, patch test first and stop if irritation develops. Avoid contact with eyes unless the product is specifically intended for that area. Persistent irritation deserves professional advice. Small efficacy reports do not establish universal tolerability, long-term safety or suitability during pregnancy.

Scope: Ordinary cosmetic care of intact skin only. Evidence from injured skin or procedure-assisted delivery is not used here as proof of cosmetic efficacy. Copper-peptide skincare does not replace sun protection or medical assessment of a skin or scalp condition.

Does the research show that 4% is the best concentration?

No. The older cosmetic concentrations are missing from the retrieved review. Neither the newer combination abstract nor the laboratory studies establish an optimal clinical GHK-Cu percentage. Higher concentration is not a demonstrated advantage.

Can I use the “70%” result to compare creams?

No. It describes the proportion of a very small group with a biopsy response. It is not a wrinkle effect size and not a head-to-head test of the products shown here.

Does GHK-Cu have clinical hair-growth evidence here?

No controlled GHK-Cu scalp monotherapy trial was verified in this review. AHK-Cu follicle experiments involve a different peptide outside the body. Scalp conditioning and clinical hair growth are different outcomes.

Why are the older reports included at all?

They are frequently repeated in discussions of copper-peptide cosmetics. Showing their actual source status and missing information is more useful than presenting them as fully verified trials or ignoring them altogether.

08 | References & methods

Follow the source, not just the headline

Primary articles and review-reported studies are separated throughout. No participant totals are added across potentially overlapping reports.

Evidence checked 8 September 2026 · 8 summaries · 3 older reports available only through a review

This focused review checked the full text of the BioImpacts review and selected Europe PMC/PubMed records for cosmetic human outcomes, formulation research and identity-specific background. The literature search also identified the 2026 ferment-combination publication. It is a selected evidence review, not a registered systematic review or a claim to include every trial.

The original Abdulghani pilot and two Leyden conference reports were not retrieved; the cited review is the accessible source for their details. The 2026 combination paper was accessible only as an abstract. Missing sample sizes, doses and results are explicitly marked rather than estimated.

  1. BioImpacts review: Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide (2025 collection). DOI 10.34172/bi.30071. Includes older human reports at references 14–16. ↗
  2. Wang et al. Mixed-culture ferment extract plus GHK-Cu (2026). DOI 10.1111/srt.70360. Primary clinical-combination abstract. ↗
  3. GHK-Cu and hyaluronic acid synergy (2023). DOI 10.1111/jocd.15763. Primary cell/excised-skin abstract. ↗
  4. Hostynek et al. Human skin penetration of a copper tripeptide (2011). DOI 10.1007/s00011-010-0238-9. Delivery background, not cosmetic efficacy. ↗
  5. Badenhorst et al. Physicochemical characterization (online 2014). DOI 10.3109/10837450.2014.979944. Formulation background only. ↗
  6. Pyo et al. The effect of tripeptide-copper complex on human hair growth in vitro (2007). DOI 10.1007/BF02978833. AHK-Cu identity context, not GHK-Cu efficacy. ↗

Product descriptions: the Neurogan Health catalog supplied for this review, with links to individual topical product pages above. Manufacturer descriptions are not included as clinical studies.

Download the study summaries as JSON