Older human reports
Two appearance studies and one biopsy pilot, summarized secondhand. They are not three verified full clinical papers.
Topical cosmetics | Copper Tripeptide-1
Copper peptides have an interesting skin-science story. Small cosmetic reports describe smoother-looking skin, but the evidence is less complete than the claims often suggest. Here is what was actually studied, and what remains uncertain.
Two commonly cited cosmetic cream reports followed women for 12 weeks. Both were favorable, but they are available here only through a review citing meeting proceedings.
41 women in the eye-area report; 71 in the facial report. Original methods, tested concentrations and numerical wrinkle changes were not verified. This is not a promised time to results. Read the reports.
Ingredient research is not a clinical trial of a finished Neurogan product. This page concerns ordinary topical cosmetic use on intact skin.
Counts describe the selected evidence on this page, not all studies ever conducted.
Two appearance studies and one biopsy pilot, summarized secondhand. They are not three verified full clinical papers.
A 2026 face-cream publication reports favorable results for ferment extract plus GHK-Cu. Only its abstract was accessible.
No defensible pooled percentage can be calculated from these sources. Missing data stays missing.
No controlled clinical trial of the compared Neurogan cosmetics was identified in the retrieved literature.
Research worth following, not a settled effect size. Favorable reports are a reason for better trials, not a basis for ranking products by expected wrinkle reduction.
A review does not turn a laboratory experiment into a clinical trial.
The closest evidence to what happens when someone uses a particular cream. None of the cited studies tests the Neurogan products below.
Two older cream reports and the newer ferment combination suggest benefit. Missing originals or incomplete methods limit confidence.
A small thigh-biopsy pilot reports a procollagen response. A change under a microscope does not quantify a visible wrinkle change.
These explain why the ingredient is studied and why its vehicle matters. They cannot establish a consumer benefit or a safe concentration.
This is a map of evidence types, not a benefit score. No study is assigned an invented quality percentage.
| Source | Visible appearance | Tissue / lab marker | Delivery / stability | Main uncertainty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eye cream, 2002 | Secondary report | Secondary report | Not measured | Original unavailable |
| Facial cream, 2002 | Secondary report | Secondary report | Not measured | Original unavailable |
| Biopsy pilot | Not measured | Secondary report | Not measured | Only 10 copper-peptide users |
| Ferment blend, 2026 | Primary abstract | Separate lab work | Not established | Clinical methods unavailable |
| HA blend, 2023 | Not measured | Primary abstract | Not established | No treated volunteers |
| Skin delivery, 2011 | Not measured | Not measured | Primary abstract | Copper is not intact complex |
| Formulation stability | Not measured | Not measured | Primary abstract | Not a finished-product trial |
The biopsy pilot reports that 70% of the 10 copper-peptide users showed increased procollagen synthesis. It does not report 70% fewer wrinkles, 70% more collagen, or a 70% success rate for facial skincare.
Check the denominator →The older cream reports do not provide usable numerical wrinkle changes in the retrieved review. The newer clinical abstract also omits effect sizes. A bar chart would imply precision these sources do not offer.
Read the newer finding →Every summary states the design, population, exposure, endpoint and source-access level. All summaries remain readable without JavaScript.
8 summaries shown
Leyden, Stephens, Finkey & Barkovic, AAD meeting proceedings, 2002; summarized in the 2025 review, reference 15.
The review reports improved appearance, fewer lines and wrinkles, and greater thickness and density compared with placebo or a vitamin K cream. Numerical changes and uncertainty are not supplied.
What limits the finding: Conference-level source. Without the original methods and results, the size and reliability of the benefit cannot be checked. This is not a trial of a current Neurogan eye or face product.
Leyden, Stephens, Finkey, Appa & Barkovic, AAD meeting proceedings, 2002; summarized in the 2025 review, reference 16.
The review reports increased skin density and thickness and reduced laxity, fine lines and wrinkle depth. It does not provide a numerical effect size, confidence interval or enough comparator data to reconstruct the result.
What limits the finding: A separate conference report, not a verified full randomized-trial publication. Repetition in later reviews does not add new participants or independent confirmation.
Abdulghani et al., pilot study cited as 1998 in the 2025 review, reference 14.
The review reports increased procollagen synthesis in 70% of the copper-peptide group, versus 50% of the vitamin C group and 40% of the retinoic acid group. These are proportions of participants showing a biopsy response, not the amount of new collagen or change in wrinkles.
What limits the finding: Tiny groups, thigh rather than facial skin, and a tissue marker rather than a visible cosmetic outcome. Comparator creams were used in different participant groups. The original paper and its bibliographic details were not independently verified.
Wang, Tao, Huang & Chang. Skin Research and Technology, 2026;32(8). DOI: 10.1111/srt.70360. PMID: 42573538.
The abstract reports decreased wrinkles and improved skin barrier conditions in the clinical study. It gives no clinical numerical changes, group sizes, confidence intervals or p-values.
What limits the finding: This is direct clinical publication evidence for a combination, not GHK-Cu alone. Full text was not available for method verification. The formulation is not one of the Neurogan products compared below; laboratory comparisons cannot establish which ingredient drove the clinical finding.
Synergy of GHK-Cu and hyaluronic acid on collagen IV upregulation via fibroblast and ex-vivo skin tests. Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, 2023. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.15763. PMID: 37062921.
The selected combination reportedly increased collagen IV 25.4-fold in the cell test and 2.03-fold in the excised-skin test. The assays and tissue systems differ; these numbers are not interchangeable.
What limits the finding: Not a human wrinkle trial. A selected blend and HA molecular weight matter. Neither fold-change is a percentage reduction in wrinkles, and neither establishes a tested serum concentration.
Hostynek, Dreher & Maibach. Human skin penetration of a copper tripeptide in vitro as a function of skin layer. Inflammation Research, 2011. DOI: 10.1007/s00011-010-0238-9. PMID: 20721598.
Copper was detected beyond dermatomed skin and retained within skin. The review reports very different permeation across isolated stratum corneum, epidermis and split-thickness skin.
What limits the finding: Delivery background only. An abundant laboratory dose is not a few drops of serum. Measuring elemental copper cannot show that intact GHK-Cu reached its target; copper can separate from GHK and bind other molecules. No wrinkle outcome was measured.
Badenhorst, Svirskis & Wu. Physicochemical characterization of native glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine tripeptide for wound healing and anti-aging: a preformulation study for dermal delivery. DOI: 10.3109/10837450.2014.979944. PMID: 25384620; online 2014.
GHK-Cu was stable in the tested water and buffers but susceptible to basic and oxidative stress. It was compatible with Span 60-based niosomes and less stable with the negatively charged lipid dicetyl phosphate.
What limits the finding: A formulation test, not a human safety or efficacy trial. Accelerated conditions do not establish the shelf life of every finished product. These results also do not justify blanket rules about mixing all copper peptides with every other skincare active.
Topically applied GHK as an anti-wrinkle peptide: Advantages, problems and prospective. BioImpacts, 2025 collection. DOI: 10.34172/bi.30071. PMID: 39963574; PMC11830136.
The body describes small favorable human reports and extensive laboratory plausibility, while highlighting insufficient published permeability, effectiveness and safety information.
What limits the finding: Not a systematic review or meta-analysis. Its abstract refers to an absence of clinical studies despite describing human studies in the body. This page follows the actual cited reports and their availability rather than treating that wording as proof of either no research or strong efficacy.
Copper peptides are a family of related compounds, not one interchangeable ingredient.
Glycyl-histidyl-lysine bound to copper. Common cosmetic name: Copper Tripeptide-1. This is the main subject of this page.
The same three-amino-acid sequence without its copper complex. A GHK experiment is not automatically a test of GHK-Cu.
GHK chemically joined to a fatty-acid chain; also called Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1. It is not Copper Tripeptide-1. A blend containing it is a different formula.
Alanine replaces glycine. The often-cited human hair-follicle experiment tested AHK-Cu outside the body, not GHK-Cu on a living scalp. Read that identity-specific source.
Procollagen is a precursor. Collagen gene expression is a cell signal. Collagen IV is a structural component near the boundary between skin layers. None of these automatically gives a visible wrinkle reduction.
Peptide identity, concentration, stability, carrier, application amount and skin condition all influence exposure. A blue color or a larger milligram number is not evidence of superior results.
Product details below describe the supplied catalog, not independent clinical results. Listed amounts are manufacturer statements; they are not validated cosmetic study doses.
1,200 mg; described as 4% Copper Tripeptide-1.
Niacinamide, aloe, glycerin, kojic acid, jojoba oil, vitamin E and rice bran oil are also described. Any finished-serum effect cannot be assigned to GHK-Cu alone.
View product details ↗2,400 mg GHK-Cu per 2 oz jar.
A cream vehicle differs from the unspecified older trial creams. No verified concentration match or head-to-head evidence that more peptide produces more visible benefit.
View product details ↗Copper Tripeptide-1 listed; concentration not stated in catalog description.
Sodium hyaluronate, amino acids, caffeine and tea tree oil are described. Facial wrinkle reports do not establish scalp outcomes or hair growth.
View product details ↗GHK-Cu serum; concentration not stated in catalog description.
The catalog describes a two-ingredient serum. AHK-Cu follicle culture data does not establish clinical hair growth with this GHK-Cu product.
View product details ↗4,000 mg combined GHK-Cu + AHK-Cu per 237 mL bottle.
The catalog does not separate the amount of each peptide. Short rinse-off contact is not equivalent to weeks of leave-on cream use.
View product details ↗Not a product ranking. There is no verified match between these products and the older study concentrations. Total milligrams per container are not milligrams per application; a blend total is not the dose of each peptide. Check the current package for the full ingredient list and directions.
A favorable finding can be real and still leave important questions unanswered.
The available human reports lean favorable. However, inaccessible originals, missing controls and no usable effect sizes make publication bias and selective reporting hard to judge. The retrieved set does not provide a well-characterized negative GHK-Cu monotherapy wrinkle trial; that is not proof that all studies succeed.
GHK-Cu stability changes with stressors and carrier ingredients. Delivery differs by the skin layer tested. These are genuine qualifications, but not failed wrinkle trials. A separate AHK-Cu cell study reported a nonsignificant reduction in apoptotic cells; that finding belongs to AHK-Cu, not GHK-Cu.
Think of GHK-Cu as a cosmetic ingredient with plausible biology and limited clinical documentation, not a guaranteed wrinkle eraser. This evidence cannot predict your response, an ideal percentage, or whether benefits last after stopping. Moisturization from the rest of a formula can also affect how skin looks and feels.
Follow the finished product’s directions, patch test first and stop if irritation develops. Avoid contact with eyes unless the product is specifically intended for that area. Persistent irritation deserves professional advice. Small efficacy reports do not establish universal tolerability, long-term safety or suitability during pregnancy.
Scope: Ordinary cosmetic care of intact skin only. Evidence from injured skin or procedure-assisted delivery is not used here as proof of cosmetic efficacy. Copper-peptide skincare does not replace sun protection or medical assessment of a skin or scalp condition.
No. The older cosmetic concentrations are missing from the retrieved review. Neither the newer combination abstract nor the laboratory studies establish an optimal clinical GHK-Cu percentage. Higher concentration is not a demonstrated advantage.
No. It describes the proportion of a very small group with a biopsy response. It is not a wrinkle effect size and not a head-to-head test of the products shown here.
No controlled GHK-Cu scalp monotherapy trial was verified in this review. AHK-Cu follicle experiments involve a different peptide outside the body. Scalp conditioning and clinical hair growth are different outcomes.
They are frequently repeated in discussions of copper-peptide cosmetics. Showing their actual source status and missing information is more useful than presenting them as fully verified trials or ignoring them altogether.
Primary articles and review-reported studies are separated throughout. No participant totals are added across potentially overlapping reports.
Evidence checked 8 September 2026 · 8 summaries · 3 older reports available only through a review
This focused review checked the full text of the BioImpacts review and selected Europe PMC/PubMed records for cosmetic human outcomes, formulation research and identity-specific background. The literature search also identified the 2026 ferment-combination publication. It is a selected evidence review, not a registered systematic review or a claim to include every trial.
The original Abdulghani pilot and two Leyden conference reports were not retrieved; the cited review is the accessible source for their details. The 2026 combination paper was accessible only as an abstract. Missing sample sizes, doses and results are explicitly marked rather than estimated.
Product descriptions: the Neurogan Health catalog supplied for this review, with links to individual topical product pages above. Manufacturer descriptions are not included as clinical studies.